New Amarok breaks cover

The covers have finally come off VW’s highly anticipated new Amarok. It was revealed to the world today and will be launched locally in Q1 of 2023. The Aussie-designed newcomer will be built at Ford’s Silverton facility and will share some underpinnings with the Ford Ranger, but unique front and rear styling and distinctive interior treatment ensures that it remains all-VW.

At 5.35m in length the newcomer gains 96mm on its predecessor. A wheelbase that is 173mm longer also results in improved cabin space. Four Ford-sourced turbodiesel engines are under consideration for SA. The first is a 2.0-litre 4×2 paired with a five-speed manual gearbox offering 110kW and 350Nm. There’s also a 125kW, 405Nm version of this single-turbo 2.0, which will be available as 4×2 and 4×4, with six-speed manual and automatic gearboxes. There is also a twin-turbo 2.0 diesel that pushes 154kW and 500Nm and a 3.0-litre V6 turbodiesel that’s good for 184kW and 600Nm. Both will have a 10-speed auto gearbox and four-wheel drive. A 2.3-litre turbo-petrol, offering 199kW, is also under consideration for SA.

The 4×4 models will be fitted with a fine-tuned version of Ford’s selectable 4WD system. Depending on the variant, new Amarok offers a payload of up to 1.2 tonnes and a braked towing capacity of 3.5 tonnes. The maximum payload for the bakkie is now rated at 1 160kg with the roof capable of an additional 350kg. Depending on powertrain, the new bakkie could be capable of towing 3.5 tons and boasts an impressive wading depth of 800mm compared to the current generation’s 500mm. Volkswagen’s 4Motion setup will be available to certain bakkies in the lineup once again with either a permanent setup or selectable 4×4. 

The interior of the model is also updated and features a portrait orientated infotainment screen, similar to the one found in the new Ranger as it will be running a a similar version of the Ford SYNC 4 system which can be specified in 10 or 12-inches. The bakkie will also feature over 20 driver-assistance systems.

The new Amarok will be offered in both double cab and single cab configurations and five trim levels, including Amarok (base), Life, Style, PanAmericana and Aventura.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

You might also like